Me and My Yarnbomb!

This summer was extremely memorable to say the least. I was a teaching artist-in-residence, teaching high school students how to knit. At first I was a bit apprehensive because I never taught children before, especially high school students. I was expecting resistance to the knitting movement but instead I got a group of students who were actually interested in public art and creating something of their own.

Due to the time-frame we had, I taught the students how to knit with a loom. This method was much easier for them and it allowed them to create pieces at a faster pace. Over time, the students were taking their looms home and knitting in their free time – how amazing is that?

During the summer, after we put up Phase 1 we celebrated by showcasing their creations at the local music festival that was going on in that very location of the install. They were excited to show patrons their creations.

For Phase 2, we took a different approach. We allowed them to have their very own trees and be more creative. The slogan for Phase 2 was BE MORE CREATIVE! And boy, did they show their true colors.

I also created a special French Soul Knittery/Ashley Leonard yarnbomb with the theme: SunRISE/SunSET. My theme was about rising to the occasion like the sun and making your dreams and goals come to fruition. I had such a great time and I hope to continue to teach children and adults the art of traditional knitting and loom knitting.

Here are a few photos of our experience:

Me, Ashley Leonard, teaching the students the art of loom knitting.

Me, Ashley Leonard, teaching the students the art of loom knitting.

 

Me, weaving with the students

Me, weaving with the students

 

Here I am showing a patron at the Lincoln Park Music Festival how to knit on a loom

Here I am showing a patron at the Lincoln Park Music Festival how to knit on a loom

 

Phase 2 of the Yarn City Project. The students' public art

Phase 2 of the Yarn City Project. The students’ public art

 

Phase 2 of the Yarn City Project. The students' public art

Phase 2 of the Yarn City Project. The students’ public art

 

My yarnbomb for Phase 2. The theme is SunRise/SunSet

My yarnbomb for Phase 2. The theme is SunRise/SunSet

 

Last day of the program. That's me, organizing the awards for the students

Last day of the program. That’s me, organizing the awards for the students

 

Here I am with my fellow teaching artist in residence, handing out the awards to the students on the last day of the program

Here I am with my fellow teaching artist in residence, handing out the awards to the students on the last day of the program

Leave a Reply

