Joining Etsy and What I Learned About Myself and My Business

post

Before I decided to join Etsy as a business owner, I would venture on the site to see the latest items and window shop what they had to offer. When I was getting married, going on Etsy was a thrill for me because I saw so many beautiful handmade items that I wanted to purchase for my wedding. Fast-forward two years and I am here on Etsy, doing what I saw others do – selling. I thought long and hard before I made the leap to join the website. I wanted to make sure I was ready to dedicate a very large portion of my life to this website, to my shop and to the business side of my business. In November of 2013, I joined Etsy and I haven’t looked back since. Now as a seller on the site, I have learned a variety of things that can either help or discourage others from putting their business on the website. Granted I’m just six months in as a seller and I have so much more to learn. However, here is what I learned so far…

  • Don’t rely on Etsy to help your business. Yes, this is a big one for me and for others. Many have to understand that the site is just a marketplace that houses several million businesses for buyers to peruse and hopefully buy from. I had to learn very early on that you have to make the effort to get your business and your product out there. Yes, the website already has guaranteed following but I am competing with thousands of businesses that sell a variation of what I offer and I knew I had to do something to stand out. PR is king, wherever you are.
  • Its HARD. Did I say, its hard! Its appealing to see other businesses up there and you see that are selling so much and you automatically think that you will have the same success, WRONG! Starting a business is extremely difficult but joining Etsy is whole other beast. Not only do you have to create a product that people will love, but you have to make sure you have beautiful high quality photos to show your products, in addition to listing each product. It has to be perfect, if you want to succeed.
  • Being consistent is key. Its important to always add items to your shop and to improve on the listings that are already there. My best advice would be to constantly update product descriptions, shipping and shop policies. Its important to have information so your customers know what to expect.
  • You will have the opportunity to share your passion with the world. I still get goosebumps thinking that people actually like and enjoy what I have to offer. I’m constantly over the moon thinking that my knitwear has gone to places like Sweden and Australia and all over the US. I’m extremely grateful to everyone who has shown interest in my product and everyone who has purchased a handmade item from me. Selling your products, sharing your passion is the most rewarding aspect of going into business.

 

If I have missed any pointers please don’t hesitate to comment below. I would love to learn from other business owners out there who have more experience than I. How do you run your business? Do you use this website that I mentioned above or do you use something else?

 

Leave a Reply

